I took the road less traveled by, and it has led me to this stupid tree

The header of this shiny new blog was an image of the sidewalk somewhere in San Francisco:

A is for Awesome

Just to make sure I wasn’t citing a poem by some racist, facist, or other __ist, I looked the guy up on wikipedia, and it turns out that he shares a birthday with my partner.  Plus, my name has the letter “A” in it a bunch of times!  Fate or coincidence?  You decide! EDIT: It has since been replaced by an excerpt from a pirate and ninja painting, and then by a slice of maple leaf graffiti from I know not where.

This blog is inspired in part by a few other blogeurs and blogettes who crack me up and generally amuse me.  I thought I’d return the favo(u)r.  The selfish motivation behind this blogging is that I read Writing Your Dissertation in 15 Minutes a Day and it seems like a surprisingly solid idea.  So, here it is.  My dissertation will unfold in this blog, which I will update for fifteen minutes each day.  Stay tuned if you like cultural cartography, Hawai’i, Nunavut, Alaska, and / or Newfoundland (and Labrador!).  It’s gonna be wild. EDIT: This is no longer true. I update on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Since I am working on my PhD in Canadian Studies, I will also use this space to document my travels (and travails) in Canada-land, and to share links to cool stuff I find elsewhere on the Interwebs.

Through the magic of us now living in the future, the recommended links have supplied themselves, which is ridiculous, so I’m going to peace out for now and leave you to reading wikipedia and looking at Google maps.

Bon soir.

This entry was posted in Category Awesome and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

