“I give myself very good advice, but I very seldom follow it.”

Over the years (and years and years) that I have been in school or working on writing projects in various capacities, I have accumulated a great deal of mad awesome tips for writing a cohesive and compelling argument.  Feel free to add your own in the comments, but here are the finest gems I’ve come across thus far:

“Tell me what you’re gonna tell me.  Tell me.  Tell me what you told me.” – courtesy of an Illinois Math and Science Academy teacher (but I can’t remember which one, since they’re all amazing)

“Take my hand and take me with you in your paper!  Drag me with you through the thought process and argument.  Say, we’re going over here, and this is why.  Now we’re going over here, isn’t this great?  This is why!  Next, we’re going over here, because…  And now we’re back, we’ve come full circle, and didn’t you learn something amazing?  Aren’t you convinced?  Okay, you can let go of my hand now.” – one of those wonderful CanStud professors

“Introduce your thesis and reiterate it often so that you don’t lose focus.  Make more ties and transitions between topics.  Focus on specific themes, use section headings for organization.  Keep it simple.  Say: I will examine this like this and then that like that and then it all connects like this.” – the super-fantastic Ms. Sarah Spear, TA extraordinaire

I’m a TA, too, but I always forget to do the things I tell my students to do.  Plus my writing process is a bit scattered, which is why I find blogging so helpful.  Now I have all of these ideas and tips and documents in one place!  Even if my titles are less than illuminating…

This entry was posted in Category Awesome and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

