Trash to treasure

This entire post is pretty much for AY, since I think she’ll appreciate my recycling motives the most.

As I imagine is the case for other First World people with lots of fancy things, I have an over abundance of jewelry (as in, I have jewelry). Rather than put it into tiny organized drawers or some other sensible storage unit, I have decided to display my pretty things.

Using some screen (left over from when Jim Jim build a food dehydrator — see Facebook for images of that), cardboard (from something that arrived on our doorstep), clothespins (from the dollar store), paint (left over from the pirate ships we made for the wedding), wall paper (from BB), and a hot glue gun (the same one we used in Girl Scouts back in the day), I built three display cases (or whatever you want to call them).

Check it out. The cardboard is from a frame we got from Target, which came with a hanging hook for dispaly in the store, but came in handy for this repurposing.

Yes, those are real sweater guards that I found at my grandma's. And fake peacock feathers (I assume).

This one has yet to get fully tricked out. I just made it since I felt like the other two were too crowded, and the box seemed just right for such a project. Sadly, the magnetic tape couldn't even hold it together to get photographed.

So, there you have it! I turned trash into a handy storage-and-display-wall-decoration in a few easy steps while procrastinating from my dissertation.

Oh, and I use one of those file organizers (upside down) to hang other earrings, since I could never get paper to actually stay in the thing:

And it's a handy shelf for toothpaste.

Thanks for joining me on this tangent from research. Now I’d best get back to it!

This entry was posted in Category Awesome. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trash to treasure

  1. Judith Hazlett says:

    You amuse and amaze as always, Amanda. Also I was quite taken with those “toast” earrings.

  2. amurphyao says:

    Thanks! I got them for my birthday. A seller at our local Farmer’s Market made them – she is on etsy, but there are loads of other toast earrings on there, too! :-)

  3. AYuen says:

    Brilliant!!! Such a shiny and wholesome way to procrastinate :-)

  4. Pingback: Jewelry Frames – Art for your Accessories! |

  5. Bubba says:

    I like it!

  6. canstud says:

    Nice to see you are using your time wisely my friend.

  7. Pingback: More trash to treasure | This dissertation is going to be fun, like dessert

Leave a Reply

