Probation

I’ve been on academic probation more than once.

In fact, if memory serves, I’ve been on academic probation three times.

And by “memory,” I mean The Evidence, in the form of three adorable cards that my mom sent to me.

Card the First

Courtesy of the Illinois Math and Science Academy hazing ritual known as Mathematical Investigations 3, which I did much better in the second time around. Just goes to show that you can do anything if you put your mind to it. Even if your dad’s attempted bribe didn’t take. And I once understood the school chant, “secant, tangent, cosine, sine, 3.14159, pi, i, cube root of x, rock ’em, sock ’em, we’re the best!”

Card the Second

I would be lying if I said that I remembered what class this was from, but I’m pretty sure it was a summer Sociology class at McGill – a summer wherein I took three classes and worked full time at Tim Hortons. You know how it is – something’s gotta give.

Card the Third

THIS is the most recent card, celebrating the fact that I passed my second doctoral exam on the second try. Go, team! I had a lot of help, and it was a wonderful exercise in exploiting long- and short-term friendships with colleagues, mentors, and people I just met. Thanks, everybody!

I’m terrible at segues, so I’ll confess that this was an elaborate set up to point you to my new mail blog, which has more wonderful gems from my dear mother. Without her support, encouragement, and hilarious antics, there wouldn’t be much worth blogging about in my world.

This entry was posted in Category Awesome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

