For some people, the glass is basically half full. Of chunks of glass.

One of those sisters I know called the other day to lament that she had gotten an 11 out of 20 possible points on a quiz. (In Canada-land, that might even be a passing mark. In America-land, not so much.)

“Well, that’s a whole lot better than zero out of twenty,” I replied, optimistically.

“It’s better than ten out of twenty,” she corrected me.

“Yeah! It’s better than zero, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, or ten, or ten and a half, out of twenty! Way to go!”

Then she hung up on me.

This entry was posted in Category Awesome. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For some people, the glass is basically half full. Of chunks of glass.

  1. Bubba says:

    Was that me?

    • Amanda says:

      I don’t know, WAS IT? Do you know someone who hangs up on people when you are done talking to them on the phone? Do you know someone who FREAKS OUT about your grades? Do you know someone who gets mad when I try to make HILARIOUS jokes about your really, not that bad grades? Does this describe you or someone you know? Perhaps one of my other sisters? ;-) I love you, Bubba. Very much. That is why I mock you publicly.

  2. AYuen says:

    Hahahaha! Perhaps it was optimism overload?

  3. Judith Hazlett says:

    I had resolved not to let you get my goat with the implication that we have lower standards in Canada, but I started thinking about the expression “get my goat” and thought I would email you to ask if anyone uses it anymore – in Canada or anywhere else in the world.

    • Amanda says:

      Oh! I certainly didn’t mean to imply that there are lower standards in Canada, rather that the grading / marking scale is quite different (see a comparison here: https://dessertating.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/sticker-shock/). For my sister’s assignment, the 55% would be a D at Carleton, whereas it would be an F at the University of Illinois. (And it’s a bit easier to bring your grade up from a D than from an F!)

      I wonder, too, if people still use the phrase “get my goat.” I know I have used it before, and now that you’ve brought it up, it will leap (like a goat?) to mind more readily. :-) Also, I did some googling, and I found out that the phrase is credited with American origins (see: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/get-your-goat.html). My favo(u)rite excerpt is: “Got his goat? What expressions they used nowadays!” from 1924.

Leave a Reply

