Adventures in Research: America’s a “hussey” AND a “slut”

Don’t ask me how (or why), but first I came across this gem, a political cartoon from 1776 (probably mentioned in a book):

or who shallBritannia: I’ll force you to Obedience you Rebellious Slut.
America: Liberty, Liberty forever Mother, while I Exist.

And so began the noble tradition of taking your shirt off for love of country.

Luckily, my fellow Americans are continuing the legacy of shirtless American pride and enthusiasm at sporting events pretty well every day, I’d wager:

shirtless enthusiasmOne example is probably enough. Do your own Google image search (if you’re so bold).

After the Superbowl, I washed the paint off and read “The American Image as Indian Princess 1765-1783” by E. McClung Fleming (1965), which brought me to this description of another image:

…a resentful Britannia cries out against a successful America: “Oh the Hussey, she dares me to my very face”…

[Just like Wonder Woman! In her first appearance, a passerby says upon seeing her costume: “The hussy! She has no clothes on!”

sc1-hussy

Boo to slut-shaming. And to that guy in the hat.]

So of course I got all over Google and found out that the image was part of a song sheet:

goody bull or the second part of the repealAnd then I Googled some more and found it…

The World Turned Upside Down

along with lots of other jacked up representations of young America-land!

Also relevant (but possibly Not Safe for Grandmas), since it’s so close to Halloween:

The Daily Show on Sexy Halloween Costumes

(Thanks to Jim Jim for bringing this to my attention.)

And that is why every sentence of my dissertation takes three weeks to write. There are too many interesting threads to follow!

This entry was posted in Category Awesome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

