“Esoteric Sh*t,” or Why I Love The “Canterbury Tales”

This post is goes out to AR and any other medievalists who might be reading, with love from another often esoteric part of the humanities. I mean, some people don’t even know what street Canada is on.

Way back in my McGill days, I enrolled in a course on Chaucer’s “Canterbury Tales.”

Way back the other other day, while gallivanting about LA with a high school friend, I mentioned that I had taken lots of esoteric courses during my time at university, citing this Chaucer course as an example. My friend, a medievalist by trade and training, found this amusing enough to share on Facebook (if it was mildly dismissive of her career trajectory).

What I forgot to say at the time was that I, as a fellow super-nerd, loved that class. We had to memorize a portion of the text to recite in class, and I rented a knight’s costume to accompany my recitation. (Did I already mention: super. nerd.)

Fast forward a few years to a summer in Alaska, where a house party finds everyone else with an entertaining skill – dancing, reciting poems, playing instruments, telling jokes – and me at a bit of a loss, wondering what to share.

Turns out some of the Yalies (that’s code-speak for “Yale students,” as the uninitiated in a gathering of more than one Yalie will learn quickly) in attendance had had to memorize Chaucer in their undergrad, too, so a few of us managed to spout some of the “Canterbury Tales” on the spot. It was a collaborative effort to behold, and it promptly motivated me to write to Professor Fumo with belated but sincere gratitude: “When you had us memorize Chaucer for homework, you said it would be good for us, and I don’t think I believed you at the time – but you were right!”

(Dr. Kiely always said that Liberal Arts degrees were great for cocktail parties.)

Moral of the story: Anyone who thinks there aren’t real-world applications for Chaucer (or any variation on a Liberal Arts degree) hasn’t been to an Alaskan house party.

Of course, you should feel free to draw your own muddled conclusions!

This entry was posted in Category Awesome and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

